Hitting a High Note: More Than 40 Seneca Valley Students Make Honors Band

The district has more students selected for Honors Band than any other school in the region.

These students are hitting a high note.

More than 40 Seneca Valley students have earned positions in the 2012 Pennsylvania Music Educators Association District 5 Honors Band.

Auditions were held Nov. 13 for the Honors Band at Westminster College. Forty three students from Seneca Valley School District were selected out of 278 students from 25 different schools to be a part of the 120-member band, a statement from the district said.

Seneca Valley had more students selected than any other school. The district also earned the most first chairs and the most Automatic District Band chairs of any other school, according to Seneca Valley.

District 5 is comprised of all school districts in Beaver, Butler, Lawrence and Mercer counties. To audition, students must be at least a freshman and have to prepare a piece from a predetermined solo list for each school year. These college-level solos are selected by the directors of District 5.

The Honors Band also participated in a three-day festival that concluded with a concert in Orr Auditorium at Westminster College on Dec. 8.

“Musical excellence is the goal of the Seneca Valley Instrumental program and these fine musicians are continuing the rich tradition established by the Seneca Valley Bands,” said Varden Armstrong, Jr., a member of the Seneca Valley Arts Academy faculty. “This pursuit of excellence is also a part of the expanded Performing Arts curriculum, which is a part of the SV Arts Academy.”

The instrumental music faculty includes Robert Matchett, III, Robert Babick, Sara Snyder and Armstrong, Jr.

The following students were chosen to join the Honors Band:

 Madalyn Fritch*, Marcus Musulin, Alyssa Grasso, Leah Marofsky, Joshua Zahren*+, Sarah Johanknecht, Alex Bark*+, Hayeon Park*, Sarah Kochis*, Adehl Schwaderer, Daniella Ortiz, Ian Ferraro, Steven Lippold, Stefany Baron*+, Dan Singer, Julia Scanlan, Alex Taylor, Rebecca Danik, Conner Thompson*+, Matthew Ruwe*, Eli Coyle*, Jeremiah Scanlan, Jonathan Selling, Mitchell Weaver, Daniel Collier, Adam Johanknecht, Daniel Eppler*+, Christina Otteni, Lauren Agnello, Martin Chrzanowski*+, Patrick O'Connor*, Natalie Byers*, Nikkolas Paserba, Bethany Sager, Nathaniel Fritch, Matthew Tice, Kathryn Kolor, Samuel West*+, Aaron Jackson, Courtney Wahlstrom, Hayden Goodzinski, Brendan Kennelty, and Alexandra Steighner.

* Received an automatic selection into District Band based on their auditioned chair at Honors Band.
+ Earned first chair in their section.

-- Photos and information submitted by Seneca Valley School District. Have news you'd like to share with Patch readers? Email Editor Jessica Sinichak at jessica.sinichak@patch.com or visit our Pics & Clips Gallery. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something