Cranberry Firefighters Honor Members, Appoint Officers

Awards handed out to firefighters include "Rookie of the Year" and "The Chief's Award."

The Cranberry Township Volunteer Fire Company had its annual awards and installation dinner Saturday.

Volunteers, township employees and local and state elected officials attended the gathering, which offers the company an opportunity to recognize the contributions of its members as well as swear in officers for 2013.

Bruce Mazzoni, chairman of the Cranberry Board of Supervisors, swore in the new officers, including Brian Kovac, who once again was appointed chief. Bruce Hezlep also retained his post as president of the company.

Awards also were presented to firefighters for attaining training milestones.

Essentials of Firefighting:

  • Dave Anderson
  • Ryan Kahsar
  • Bill Ahlgren
  • Andrew Bell
  • Andrew Parroto
  • Bobby Ritenour
  • Forrest Rothrock

Firefighter I:

  • Andrew Bell
  • Forrest Rothrock
  • Ryan Kahsar
  • John Renyck
  • Brandon Ross

Firefighter II

  • Ryan Kahsar
  • Shawn Thomas
  • Sean Hayden
  • Rich Kisic

Fire Officer I:

  • Larry Clutter

Fire Instructor I:

  • Larry Clutter
  • Chris DeCree
  • Jeff Gooch
  • Dennis Kimmel
  • Brian Kovac
  • Dave Mack
  • Mark Nanna
  • David Watkins
  • Mike Hanks
  • Sean Hayden
  • Bruce Hezlep

Fire Police:

  • Joe Minkel
  • Chad Straessley

Hazardous Materials Technician:

  • Dennis Kimmel

Other members were recognized for their elected positions and for their longtime service with the company:


  • Ben Ross

Longevity Awards:

  • Tom Hodder – 40 Years
  • Rick Cook – 30 Years
  • Gene Winters – 30 Years
  • Paul Brown – 25 Years
  • Jim Sines – 20 Years
  • Tim Barch – 10 Years
  • Bruce Hezlep – 10 Years
  • Jim Robinson – 10 Years
  • Nathan Kimmel – 5 Years
  • Shawn Thomas – 5 Years

Several firefighters were recognized for exceptional performance throughout the year. The awards were based on votes from fellow volunteers, Fire Chief Brian Kovac or company President Bruce Hezlep:

Rookie of the Year: Bobby Ritenour

Brigade Member of the Year (Voted by members): Dennis Kimmel

Company Member of the Year (Voted by members): Carolyn Nelson

Chief’s Award: Dennis Kimmel

President’s Award: Carolyn Nelson

The board members for 2013 are:

President: Bruce Hezlep

Vice President: John Kontros

Secretary: Carolyn Nelson

Treasurer: Jim Cole

1st Director: Jim McConnell

2nd Director: Tom Klingensmith

The officers appointed for 2013 are: 

Chief: Brian Kovac

Assistance Chief: Todd Rice

1st Captain: Larry Clutter

2nd Captain: Dennis Kimmel

1st Lieutenant: Dave Mack

2nd Lieutenant: Jeff Gooch

Rescue Officer: Mark Nanna

Fire Police Captain: Jim Robinson

Fire Police Lieutenant: Ben Ross


Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

Check out some of today's other top stories here .


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »